Cloud Tags
  • How to type Rupees Symbol using the above tool:
  • The Step to enable use of Microsoft patch for typing Rupee Symbol are as follows:

Indian Rupee Symbol

Click here to download Rupee Symbol Typing Tool

With the efforts of Government of India, Unicode Consortium and ISO, within three months of selection the new Indian Rupee Symbol has been incorporated as UNICODE standard. In a press release on 11th Oct, 2010 Unicode Consortium announced that the Indian Rupee symbol has been made part of the official Unicode standard and the same is available at code point U+20B9 in the currency Symbols block of Unicode version 6.0. Regarding the placement of Rupee Sign on the keyboard, consensus has been arrived among the stakeholders to use combination of ‘AltGr’ and numeral ‘4’ for typing the sign.

Following Notification was issued by Bureau of Indian Standards as per amendment notice issued on 1 December ,2010 to IS13194:1991 standard for Indian rupee symbol usage on keyboards


TDIL DataCenter has release tool to type Rupees Symbol along with updated “SakalBharati” font. Sakal Bharati is a Unicode based Open Type font which includes 11 scripts in one font i.e. Assamese, Bengali, Devanagari, Gujarati, Kannada Malayalam, Oriya, Punjabi, Telugu, Tamil & Urdu. It has used Mono thick (Equal thickness of horizontal stems and vertical stem) glyphs for all scripts. This tool enables you to type Rupees Symbol in your documents using ALT + GR + 4 combinations on QWERTY keyboard. After Installation of the tool, “SakalBharati” font gets installed on the machine.

How to type Rupees Symbol using the above tool:

1. Open the application where you want to type this rupees symbol.
2. Select “SakalBharati” or any other Unicode font having Rupees Symbol.
3. Open the Rupee Symbol Typing tool ( By double clicking its icon on Desktop )
4. Press ALT (Placed on Right hand side of the keyboard) + 4.

Microsoft has also released an update to support the new currency symbol for the Indian Rupee in Windows Vista, in Windows Server 2008, in Windows 7 and in Windows Server 2008 R2. And it is available on

The Step to enable use of Microsoft patch for typing Rupee Symbol are as follows:

1. Go to Control Panel
2. Go to Region & language tab
3. Under "English-India" add "India" keyboard.( Same as English(United State) and US Keyboard)
4. Open any editor, select "English-India" and type Rupee symbol using AltGr(Right-Alt)+4.

And similarly RedHat also released a package which is available on